Bairstow scoops award

St Peter's School

Bairstow scoops award

Jonny Bairstow
















Old Peterite Jonny Bairstow has been named as one of Wisden’s Cricketers of the Year.

Jonny received the award for his efforts in helping England win the Ashes and Yorkshire secure the County Championship. In a highly successful season, Jonny scored 1108 runs for Yorkshire and hit his maiden Test century against South Africa.

Other Cricketers of the Year include England teammate Ben Stokes, Australia captain Steve Smith, New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum and fellow Kiwi Kane Williamson.

The coveted awards, which began in 1889, are a central feature of the annual Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, the 153rd edition of which was published on Thursday.

Previous winners include Shane Warne, Brian Lara, Muttiah Muralitharan and England captain Alastair Cook.