In response to the global coronavirus outbreak, St Peter’s School, York has implemented a strict visitor policy to safeguard the health and wellbeing of the whole school community. We ask that all non-essential visitors also stay away from the school at this time. If your visit is essential, please read our visitor policy before you visit the school.

Read Visitor Policy

Board of Governors

St Peter's 13-18

Board of Governors

Visitor: The Rt Honorable the Lord Archbishop of York


Mr W WoolleyMr W Woolley EDIT

Bill is Chairman of the Board, Chairman of the Process and Co-ordination Committee and a member of the Bursary and Hardship Committee.

A Chartered Civil Engineer with 30 years’ experience in local government, Bill has for the last 16 years acted as Deputy Chief Executive and Strategic Director of City Strategy with City of York Council. He is currently a development consultant and director of two local development companies.

Vice Chair

Mr P B HillingMr P Hilling EDIT

Phillip is Chairman of the Finance Committee and member of the Process and Co-ordination Committee.

Currently a non-executive director/trustee with a number of charitable and public organisations in Yorkshire, in addition to being a magistrate and executive coach. He previously qualified as a chartered accountant and has 25 years’ experience as a partner with Ernst and Young LLP.

Members of the Board

Mrs C Bailey EDIT (2)Mrs C Bailey

Carol is Chairman of the Property and Facilities Committee and member of the Bursary and Hardship Committee.

Recently retired, Carol was a partner with a national law firm specialising in commercial real estate for many years. She is also a parent to an Old Peterite.

Mr Mark Calvert

Member of the Finance Committee

Landscape 043 0185 Mark Calvert (00000002)

Recently retired having been Chief Executive Officer of a large, private environmental services company. 

Previously HRH Ambassador to Yorkshire and the Humber. Currently Chair of the York Minster Neighbourhood Forum and a member of the Minster Finance Committee. Former and current parent.

Revd Canon Dr C Collingwood

Revd Canon Dr C Collingwood EDIT

Chris is member of the Education Committee and Bursary and Hardship Committee. He is also Canon 

Chancellor of York Minster with responsibility for programming, learning, theological reflection, outreach and inter-faith matters.

A former Chaplain 

and Senior Tutor at Chigwell School 1999-2009, Chris is a qualified teacher, practising musician, authorised Zen teacher in the White Plum Asanga and an honorary Visiting Fellow at the Universities of York and York St John.

Mrs J Copley-Farnell

Mrs J Copley Farnell EDIT

Jenny is member of the Finance Committee and Education Committee, a practicing pharmacist with five years of regional management experience in the retail sector and an Old Peterite (1993-2003).

Dr N Durham

Dr N Durham EDIT

Nigel is member of the Finance Committee and Property and Facilities Committee. He was a Consultant Cardiologist at York Teaching Hospital Foundation Trust for 12 years, with five years managerial experience as 

Clinical Director of Acute and General Internal Medicine.

He is a Trustee of York Sports Club and has been Chairman of York Cricket Club for over 10 years. Nigel is both an Old Peterite and parent to a current pupil.‌

Mrs Tracey Flannery

Tracey Flannery

Member of the Education Committee and Property & Facilities Committee.

Business consultant working with companies on strategy and growth. Executive coach and trainer/facilitator. Previously 14 years leading and developing York Science Park supporting entrepreneurial science and tech companies. Trustee, director and treasurer for various York based charities and organisations.


Dr S Hinchliffe

Dr S Hinchliffe EDIT

Simon is member of the Education Committee and Headmaster of Bradford Grammar School, (formerly Deputy Head). He has previously held the position of Head of Sixth Form and Teacher of Geography at Wolverhampton Grammar School.

Simon has significant experience of academic and pastoral leadership, and outdoor education, in HMC schools. He formerly worked in higher education as a junior lecturer and Earth scientist.


Professor M Matravers

Prof M Matravers EDIT

Matt is a member of the Education Committee and Finance Committee.

He also holds the position of Director at Morrell Centre for Toleration and Professor of Law at the University of York.

 Matt is the former Head of the Department of Politics and former Director for the School of Politics, Economics and Philosophy both at the University of York.


Dr A Lees

Dr A Lees EDIT

Ann is Chair of the Education Committee in addition to being an education consultant. She is the former Director of Education for the Diocese of York (2001-2014) and former Governor of York St John University (2008-2017).

She is the Chair of the People Committee and member of the Foundation, Governance and Nominations and Remuneration Committees. Ann was former Governor of the Archbishop Sentamu Academy, Hull and Director of the Sentamu Academy Learning Trust (2004-2016) and former Lay Canon and member of the Chapter of York (2006-2012). 

Ann has a background in higher education, currently specialising professionally in school organisation (academies and free schools) and academy and school governance.


MMiss S L Palmer EDITiss S L Palmer

Susan is Chairman of the Bursary and Hardship Committee, as well as a member of the Education Committee and the Finance Committee.

A former marketing and communications director of national and international financial services organisations, Susan is also a trustee of several arts and heritage charities. In 2004 Susan was appointed OBE in recognition of services to national heritage.


Mr A Taylor EDIT

Mr A Taylor

Adrian is a member of the Education Committee and Governor Responsible for Safeguarding. He is the former Head of three schools: St Joseph’s RC Primary (3-11) 1987 – 1993, Barlborough Hall, Co-ed day and boarding (3-13) 1993-1998 and Berkhamsted Prep, (3-11) 1998-2013.

An educational consultant, Adrian specialises in the appraisal of Heads and their senior management team. He is a former ISI Inspector, former IAPS History adviser and former Governor of Mill Hill School.


Mr P Widdicombe EDIT

Mr P Widdicombe

Paul is a member of the Finance Committee and the Property and Facilities Committee. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Securities Industry, and has been working in investment management for over 25 years with Capel-Cure Sharp, heading the Barclays Wealth then Brewin Dolphin York offices with an area of expertise in the work for individuals, trusts and charities.

Paul acts as a Trustee of several charities and is a York guild member. He is both an Old Peterite and parent to one.


Clerk to the Board: Ms K Hodges

The Chair of Governors can be contacted via St Peter’s School, Clifton, York, YO30 6AB